Both Fulton and Montgomery counties have a strong history of partnering with organizations, businesses, and individuals to promote tourism and our community.  Each Chamber has recognized the significance the tourism industry provides to our area.

As the Chambers merge together, this year will be no different.  The Tourism Department is accepting nominations for the newly named Barbara V. Spraker Tourism Partner Award until Friday, December 21.

The tourism award will be presented at the Fulton Montgomery Regional Chamber’s Annual Dinner on Friday, January 18. Criteria: This award is given to an individual, event, business, or attraction that is a Chamber member and has done an outstanding job the past year in bringing visitors to the area while promoting the positive aspects of our community. 

The award honors Barbara V. Spraker for her innumerable efforts in support of Montgomery County and Mohawk Valley tourism.  Her noteworthy accomplishments include spearheading initiatives including the Canajoharie Information Booth, the bicycle path, and having served as a commissioner for the Mohawk Valley Heritage Corridor Commission.

Award nomination forms can be found on the Chamber website and submitted to:

Fulton Montgomery Regional Chamber of Commerce

2 North Main Street

Gloversville, NY 12078

Fax: 518-725-0643



Previous Winners:


2011    Bob Kazmierski, Wildlife Sports & Educational Museum

2010    Sacandaga Valley Arts Network

2009    Louis Stutzke, Fuel-N-Food

2008    Mike Hauser, Twin Cities Sports Promotion

2007    Ann & Olavi Hirvonen, Lapland Lake

2006    Jim Landrio and the Holiday Inn Johnstown-Gloversville


2011    Amsterdam Castle

2010    Light Up the Sky with the Marching Rams

2009    Fonda Speedway

2008    Holding Down the Fort, Fort Plain Museum

2007    Arkell Museum and Canajoharie Library

2006    The Fonda Fair

2005    Old Fort Johnson